About the New York State Sex Offender Registry
and the Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA)
Welcome to the New York State Sex Offender Registry information center. The purpose of this site is to provide an overview of the sex offender registration law and how the public can obtain information about sex offenders. The Sex Offender Registration Act, New York's version of Megan's Law, was signed by Governor George E. Pataki in July 1995 and became effective on January 21, 1996. The text of the statute is contained in Correction Law Article 6-C (Section 168 et seq.).
Registered sex offenders in New York are classified by the risk of reoffense. A court determines whether an offender is a level 1 (low risk), 2 (moderate risk) or 3 (high risk). The court also determines whether an offender should be given the designation of a sexual predator, sexually violent offender or predicate sex offender. Sex offenders registered on or after March 11, 2002 register for a minimum of 10 years unless they have been given a designation. If they have been given a designation, they register for life. Level 1 and 2 sex offenders registered prior to March 11, 2002 register for 10 years while level 3 offenders register for life.
There are 4 ways to obtain information about sex offenders in New York State:
- You can call 518-457-5837 or 1-800-262-3257 to determine if someone is on the Registry. You will need the name of the offender and one of the following: an exact address, a complete date of birth, a driver's license number or a social security number. Read more on the 800 Information line.
- You can access the Subdirectory of Level 3 Sex Offenders on this web site by clicking on the "Search for Level 3 Sex Offenders" button. You can search for level 3 offenders by name, county or zip code. Please note that a federal court injunction currently prohibits the release of information on this web site concerning sex offenders who committed their crime prior to January 21, 1996 and were assigned a risk level prior to January 1, 2000.
- The local law enforcement agency where the offender currently resides, can, if it chooses, release information on sex offenders residing in the community to "entities with vulnerable populations related to the nature of the offense". The law enforcement agency can only release information on level 2 and level 3 offenders through this method. Also, while the exact address of level 3 offenders can be provided, the law provides that only an approximate address based on zip code can be provided for level 2 offenders. Please note that a federal court injunction currently prohibits the release of information through this method concerning sex offenders who committed their crime prior to January 21, 1996 and were assigned a risk level prior to January 1, 2000.
- 4. Each local law enforcement agency receives from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services a copy (electronically or on a CD ROM) of the Subdirectory of Level 3 Sex Offenders which is maintained on this site . Local law enforcement is required to maintain the Subdirectory for the public to view upon request.